Posts filed under ‘Western Odisha development council’

BJD against formation of Koshal state:AU Singh Deo

Following is a report from The Pioneer:

The BJD on Saturday made it clear that it is dead against any division of the State. “I am against creation of Kosal,” said senior BJD leader and Minister AU Singh Deo, who represents the region where the Kosal agitation is underway in the wake of the Telangana issue.

Addressing the BJD foundation day function here, Singh Deo said the demand for a Kosal State gained momentum as the past Congress Governments had neglected the interests of the western Odisha. “They had only allotted Rs 1 crore (for the region’s development). But our Government gave Rs 50 crore for the first time to the Western Odisha Development Council (WODC) and then enhanced it to Rs 100 crore,” he said, adding that during the Naveen Patnaik regime many developmental works have been undertaken in the western region.

However, he urged the Chief Minister to take more steps for socio-economic growth of western Odisha.

December 26, 2009 at 7:43 pm Leave a comment

MP Bhakta Das and Sanjaya Bhoi points out reasons for Koshal state demand in parliament

Following is an article from The Samaja. Thanks to for the pointer. This is a very good move by MPs from Koshal region. They have demanded the following things:

  • Superspeciality Hospital and Medical college, National University, and KBK head quarter in Kalahandi
  • High Court Branch and WODC head quarter in Balangir
  • Assembly session once in a year in Sambalpur

All these demands are genuine. These demands were supported by Hemanda Biswal and Amarnath Pradhan. Hopefully, the government will look into this matter seriously.

December 17, 2009 at 11:31 am 4 comments

Odisha govt. has provided Rs 510 crore under Biju KBK Yojana and WODC

Following is a report from

The State Government has provided Rs 510 crore under the Biju KBK Yojana (BKY) and to the Western Orissa Development Council (WODC) since 2005-06.

Out of this, Rs 260 crore has been provided under the BKY while Rs 250 crore was allocated for the WODC. However, funds from BKY were not distributed equally among all the districts.

While the lowest allocation of Rs 17 crore has gone to the Nuapada district during the last three years, the highest provision of Rs 45 crore each was made for Koraput and Balangir districts.

Official sources, however, dismissed this discrepancy saying that the size of the district and projects approved by the district planning committees are taken into account while finalising the allocations.

Provisions for other districts under BKY include: Malkangiri-Rs 23 crore, Nabarangpur-Rs 32.5 crore, Rayagada-Rs 35.5 crore, Subarnapur-Rs 20 crore and Kalahandi-Rs 42 crore.

The State Government has made a provision of Rs 28.5 crore for two similar programmes, the Biju Kandhamal and Biju Gajapati Yojanas in the supplementary budgets. The allocation for the WODC has, however, increased over the years. While it was Rs 50 crore in 2006-07, this has increased to Rs 100 crore in 2008-09.

November 30, 2009 at 2:42 pm Leave a comment

New members of Western Odisha development council

Following is a report from

Naveen Patnaik has started the ball rolling for rehabilitation of politicians of ruling BJD in government body. Many those who are aspiring for a berth in Corporations found their name in the governing body of Western Odisha Development Council (WODC).

Chief Minister on 7 November cleared the new list Expert Members and most of them belong to BJD, who lost in recent polls.

Those include Hamid Hussain, Dayanidhi Kisan, Prakriti Devi, Snehangini Churia and Sanatan Bisi.

Dr.Hussain unsuccessfully fought recent polls from Bargarh Lok Sabha seat as BJD candidate. Prakriti Devi lost to K V Singh Deo from Patnagarh, while Snehagini Churia lost in Atabira Assembly segment. Similarly Sanatan Bisi, former Minister Health & Family Welfare also lost recent polls from Rengali Assembly seat.

However experts like Dr.Saheb Sahu, MD Kalinga Hospital, Prof Gopabandhu Behera, leading Educationist from Kalahandi and former Chief Engineer Jyoti Bhusan Nayak’s name are found in the new list.

A 21-Members’ list has been approved by the Chief Minister include two MPs, Hemananda Biswal, MP Sundargarh and Kalikesh Singh Deo, MP Balangir.

11 Lawmakers Sanjeeb Kumar Sahu, MLA Athmallik, Susant Singh, MLA Bhatli, Ramakanta Seth, MLA Loisingha, Bhagban Kanhar, MLA Kantamal, Sanjeeb Kumar Pradhan, MLA Deogarh, Anup Kumar Sai, MLA Brajraj Nagar, Gobardhan Das, MLA Juna garh, Hitesh Kumar bagarti, MLA Khariar, Rajendra Kumar Chhatria, MLA Kuchinda, Padmanabh Behera, MLA Birmaharajpur and Subrat Tarai, MLA Raghunathpali have been included.

These posts were lying vacant for quite some time and it was supposed to be filled up by the new Government, which took over on 16 May.

However due to political wrangling, it has been delayed for a long time,leaving WODC in limbo, feel political observers.

November 7, 2009 at 10:08 am Leave a comment

Newer Posts



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 463 other followers

%d bloggers like this: