Nine industries sign MoUs to set up Industrial Training Centres (ITCs) in Orissa: Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, and Deogarh district are in the list

May 25, 2010 at 5:38 pm Leave a comment

Following is a report fro The Pioneer:

In a bid to impart technical education in a bigger way, the State Government on Monday signed MoUs with nine mega industries, which would set up Industrial Training Centres (ITCs) in different parts of the State.

The industries interested in setting up ITCs are the Odisha Power Generation Corporation (OPGC), Tata Powers Company, Vedanta Sterlite Energy, Emami Paper Mills, RSB Metaltech, Surendra Mining Industries, Monnet Power Company, Uttam Utkal Steels and Ind-Barath Energy (Utkal).

The OPGC would set up an ITC at Hemgiri in Sundargarh district, Tata Powers at Banki, Cuttack, Vedanta at Kolabira, Jharsuguda, Emami at Balgopalpur, Balasore, RSB at Kalyansinghpur, Rayagada, Surendra Mining at Bonei, Sundargarh, Monnet Power at Teleibani, Deogarh, Uttam Utkal at Jhumpura, Keonjhar, and Ind-Harath Enery at Lakhanpur.

The MoUs were signed between Director of Technical Education and Training Anil Samal and the MDs and GMs of companies concerned in the presence of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Steel and Mines Minister Raghunath Mohanty, Chief Secretary TK Mishra, APC RN Senapati, Industries Secretary Sourav Garg, Energy Secretary Pradeep Jena and IDCO chairman Priyabrata Pattnayak.

The Chief Minister said that as the setting up of different industries is on the rise, skilled manpower is needed in proportion to their number. “Our Government is fully committed to set up ITIs and ITCs in all blocks to impart technical education to our youth,” he said. Steel and Mines Minister Mohanty said there is an annual requirement of nearly 1,80,000 trained personnel in highly-skilled, semi-skilled, unskilled and non-executive workforce in the metal and manufacturing sectors.


Entry filed under: Barkote-Reamal-Tileibani, Deogarh, ITIs and Polytechnics, Jharsuguda, Jharsuguda-Kirmira-Kolabira-Laikera-Lakhanpur, Region watch, Sundargarh-Rajgangpur-Balisankar-Kutura-Tangarpali-Budagaon-Lafripada-Himagiri-Bishra-Nuagaon-Lathikata-Rourkela-Bonigarh-Koida-Lahunipada-Gurundia-Kunarmunda, Sundergarh.

Orissa govt seeks Rs 1116 cr from planning commission to set up Industrial Training Centre in maoist affected districts Nominate Western Orissa candidates for Rajya Sabha

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 464 other subscribers

%d bloggers like this: