Twenty two government run polytechnics will come up various districts of Western Orissa in 2010-11

February 28, 2010 at 10:49 am Leave a comment

Following is a report from

Twenty two government run polytechnics would come up in as many districts of Orissa in 2010-11.

These polytechnics would come up in those districts which are not yet served by the government polytechnics. The districts include Boudh Gajapati, Nabarangpur, Bolangir, Kalahandi, Koraput, Kandhamal, Mayurbhanj and Balasore to name a few.

The Ministry of Human Resource Development and the Department of Higher Education of the Government of India has sanctioned Rs 12.3 crore for each polytechnic.

The amount for the proposed polytechnics would be released in installments under the Scheme of Submission on Polytechnics under Coordinated Action for Skill Development.

It may be noted that 13 government engineering schools and polytechnics are already functioning in Orissa under the state industries department.

The Orissa government has already agreed in principle for the establishment of these 22 polytechnics. A single patch of land spread over 10 acres has already been identified by the state government in each of the districts.

Out of Rs 12.3 crore sanctioned for each polytechnic, Rs eight crore will be spent on civil works and Rs 4.3 crore will be spent on equipment, machinery, furniture and learning resource material.

With the opening of these 22 polytechnics, every district in the state will have at least government polytechnic providing quality education.


Entry filed under: Athamalik-Kishorenagar, Balangir-Tentulikhunti-Deogaon-Puintola-Loisingha-Agalpur-Patnagarh-Belpada-Khaparakhol-Turkela-Bagamunda -Muribahal-Saintala-Titilagarh, Bamra-Dhankauda-Jamankira-Jujumura-Rairakhol- Kuchinda-Maneswar-Naktideul-Rengali, Bargarh-Barpali-Attabira-Bheden-Sohella-Bijepur-Padmpur-Gaisilet-Paikmal-Jharbandh-Ambabhona-Bhatli, Barkote-Reamal-Tileibani, Bhawanipatna-Kesinga-Junagarh-Karlamunda-Dharmagarh-Lanjigarh-Golamunda-Koksara-Narla-Jayapatna -Thuamul Rampur-Kalampur-Madanpur Rampur, Boudh-Kantamal, ITIs and Polytechnics, Jharsuguda-Kirmira-Kolabira-Laikera-Lakhanpur, Kalahandi-Nuapada, Nuapada-Sinapalli-Khariar-Komna-Boden, Sonepur-Birmaharajpur-Ulunda-Tarbha- Binka- Dunguripali, Sundargarh-Rajgangpur-Balisankar-Kutura-Tangarpali-Budagaon-Lafripada-Himagiri-Bishra-Nuagaon-Lathikata-Rourkela-Bonigarh-Koida-Lahunipada-Gurundia-Kunarmunda.

Science scholarships get Rs 240 crore in the Union Budget 2010 91 ITIs and 415 Skill Development Centres (SDCs) to come up in different places of Orissa in public-private partnership (PPP) mode

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 464 other subscribers

%d bloggers like this: